Back Health. Tips

Standard

A couple of weeks ago I through my back out. I don’t know why they call it “throwing your back out”. I was throwing anything, my& guess is that; I’ve been going to the Gym the last couple of months they had a great deal. Two months for $20 I could spend that on a dinner out. So we have been doing the Gym Rat thing. I do feel stronger, basically. Except for hurting my back a little bit. I have been mainly using the elliptical machine. But the other day I woke up and was bent over like an upside down L. I guess It would look more like this 7 walking around for a couple of days and slowly melting to a standing position. My question is….. When your working on your computer what kinds of things do you keep in mind for your back health. What kind of tips have you learned to keep your back and shoulders from hurting?

6 responses »

  1. I don’t even like talking about this. I don’t want to jinx anything but….I have really good posture. My mom insisted on it. But, when and if my back goes out, (I don’t know why they call it that either) I’m usually doing something dumb or nothing at all. I once threw it out just taking clothes out of the dryer and it was out for almost a month. I’m glad yours is feeling better. Working out is a good thing for loosening it up.

    Good advice Joy. I’m sitting up straighter I do forget to do that sometimes I get tired and slouch a little. So that’s a good reminder lucky that your mom insisted on that. I think walking to is helping and taking stretching breaks from the computer.

  2. Starla….you are very good at recognizing a situation and doing something about it. Good for you! 🙂 I am sure we will all be sitting straighter in no time flat! lol 🙂

    Thank You! I appreciate that.;+)

  3. Haven’t learnt yet. Let me know when you do though.

    Well. Navar bought me a 10 massage today at his college. I would say that definitely helped out the situation. I also think body mechanics when your sitting at the computer is important. I know our one main PC, the desk it’s sitting on is the wrong height. So changing that would probably help. I’m definitely up for learning how to be kinder to my back. Especially after being in pain for a couple of weeks.;+/

  4. I KEEP A CUSHION IN MY CHAIR AND LEAN ON IT WHILE I AM AT MY COMPUTER . IN THE NIGHT I SLEEP ON THE FLOOR LYING ON MY BACK WITHOUT A PILLOW. IF YOU WANT TEMPORARY RELIEF POUR SOME HOT WATER ON THE BACK

    On the floor with no pillow wow, actually some times I lie on the kitchen floor and that helps to line things up. It does feel good. And hot water has been my saving grace with hot baths, that has really helped that and a little ice pack sometimes.
    A pillow at the computer chair that’s a good Idea I’ll have to try that. Thanks Lviss

  5. Thank you very much my friend, you are very kind in sharing this useful information with? others….
    The details were such a blessing, thanks.

    I’m glad it was helpful. Back pain can be so frustrating and challenging. I’m always trying to learn more about having a healthy back.

Leave a Reply

