Navar’s Intaglio Prints

Standard

Hello, this is Navar.
This spring I took a Printmaking class which is technically called: Intaglio Printing.
We started out taking a sharp, pointed, metal tool to scratch a drawing into a plastic plate. After some experimenting with the plastic plates, we used a copper backed zinc plate, covered it with an oil mixture called Ground, used tracing paper to trace our drawing, then laid the trace paper on the plate, and put it through a press. Then we used the same tool as before to remove the ground, were the pencil marks were. Then we placed the zinc plate in nitric acid for about 14 minutes, which etches into the plate where you removed the ground. After that we put ink on the plate, put wet paper on it, and cracked it through the press. Here are my final pieces. For the ones with color, you follow the same process, then paint (the ink and paint were oil base. You can do much of the clean up with vegetable oil.), blot off the excess paint, and then run through the press.

9 responses »

  1. That sounds like a blast. I would love to try that. I’m happy I get to learn how to do Spanish mosaic next month…

    Thanks for stopping by. Spanish mosaic sounds like a lot of fun.

  2. Navar..just beautiful. I love the designs. I love that you have such talent for the arts. Keep on and keep a smile on your face. 🙂 Thanks for sharing these with us. 🙂

  3. YOU KEEP CHANGING THE THEMES. THIS LOOKS A REALLY LOVELY THEME . I WAS GROPING FOR THE COMMENTS COLUMN AND IT IS HIDDEN LIKE SOME OF THOSE OS FILES.

    ;+) This theme came out today and for some reason I was curious what it looked like so I thought I’d take it out for a Spin. I noticed the same thing about the comments they are a little hidden at first. I appreciate that WordPress puts out so many themes.

  4. YOUR BLOG ROLL GONE MISSING .
    Yes The Blog roll is missing. I may bring back the old theme back this Week-end. The other theme I like that you can change the headers and the color of the borders. Hope you have a good Week-end LVISS. My guess is when you come back it will be back to the old theme. It is a bit confusing. There some things I like about this theme, it’s hard when WordPress keeps designing new ones. ;+)

  5. Thank you everyone for your nice compliments. Normally my art is more abstract expressionistic. It was fun doing something a little more realistic.

Leave a Reply

