Don’t worry, how? Be happy? Now? I think I’ll take a nap it seem easier.

Standard

Don’t worry be happy. When I think about it today it really does seem like a tall order. How can I not worry? There’s so much to worry about. Starting with the BP crisis working my way back home to the recession, unemployment, money or there the lack of, life in general brings its bag of worries and then there’s the worry that I like to squeeze in just because. It seem my neighbors surrounding me on all sides have lately had all kinds of tragedy, I find myself worry about them. So, don’t worry be happy seems difficult at best. What I can do is recognize the little bitty moments, when life feels OK, for just a minute or two. The wind gently blowing at the right temperature, the sun warming my back for a few minutes, a funny moment taking away some of the god awful seriousness of life. I’m so grateful for humor in all its strange forms. Life looking more like a storm cloud at times dark and ominous but at the very edge a bright white edging, I guess they call that the silver lining. I will hope for maybe a silver lining or two amidst the dark and ominous clouds of life and hopefully recognize the fleeting moments of relief of joy and contentment admits all the other stuff. Maybe be happy when you can and try to not to worry so much. That I can live with.

5 responses »

  1. I’m trying so hard to “don’t worry, be happy” that it’s pathetic. My whole weekend is shot now that the tropical humidity has set in. I can’t go out for one minute and my brother is on his way out for the weekend 😦

    Aww That’s rough hard when you have plans with family. I know humidity can be really hard when you have breathing troubles. I use to have really bad asthma I use to dread humidity. Maybe the weather will change? We can hope for that. :+)

  2. DONT WORRY BE HAPPY TYPES OF ADVICES LOOK GOOD ON PAPER. .IF YOU ANALYSE A WORRY OR A PROBLEM YOU WILL FIND THAT THEY BECOME SO ONLY WHEN YOU HAVE CONTRIBUTED 40% TO IT. THATS HOW I LOOK AT IT. SO I WOULD SAY DONT CONTRIBUTE TO WORRY .

    It’s a beautiful blue sky day today, so it would be a good day to practice not contributing to worry. :+)

  3. The ex-shrink in me is tempted to pontificate… but I wont (who cheered?) Worry about those things you have any direct influence over and ignore the rest…

    Dave, ex-shrink? Do you have an hour or so, lets discus this in more detail. LOL Well,that would cut my worry significantly if I’m only dedicating worry to things that I have direct influence over Hmmmm That’s good food for thought. Crinkling up the list of worry and tossing it over my shoulder. ;+)

  4. Starla, a new look…I like it! Now about worry….does it help to worry? There’s a saying – If you can do something about the problem, then no need to worry…just do it. If you can’t do anything about the problem, there’s no use to worry. In either case, worry doesn’t help. But I know it’s much easier said than done!

    Hi Sandra, Glad you like my new blog look. Pretty in pink, I like to change it up blog decorating. I like this theme because I can change the color and header often. Ive been watching my worry thoughts this week-end. I can see it really does burn up energy when it’s a non productive worry.;+) A BP commercial just came on TV, a good time to practice.

  5. Dear Abby,
    I have a “Don’t worry be happy” singlet. It has got a bit tight around my stomach over the years though . Should I worry about that or just be happy that I am well fed???

    LOL Let me know how Dear Abby answers, that’s funny.

Leave a Reply

