Back to reality.

Standard

So this is reality? Next, Oh wait I can’t say next on that one so this is Monday? I’m here to report the mosquitoes arrived yesterday, I have the scratching welts to prove it. It’s been so nice not to worry about those little blood sucking things. I was so shocked yesterday, as I swatted my wrist a pint of blood squirted out. I jumped up looked down at the instant huge welt, showed it to Navar and yelled West Nile Virus. Walked into the house, I was trying to think turnicit no, band-aid no, what do you do for these pesky little bites? The Season of Spring was so delightful, no blood sucking insects just butterfly’s and blue birds. What tricks do you have up your sleeve to prevent these attacks or what do you put on them once they’ve assaulted you? Any home remedy’s? I hope that’s how you spell turnicit the spell check red lined it, it’s not a word I use often like exercise.

9 responses »

  1. Hello Starla,
    When my guys and I venture into the woods during mosquito season, we do wear repellent. They can get bad in Montana, but not compared to Texas, where the mosquitos wear saddles!!!

    Many of the heavy duty bug repellents ones smell awful, but if you really search, you can find ones that advertise a nicer smell, and they are a little easier on the olfactory system! ‘Skin so Soft’ by Avon works fairly well. And Burt’s Bees has a nice one. But the major brands are coming out with better ones all the time. Ours is packed away in the camping stuff, or I would run and look.

    After the little buggers attack you, there are a few home remedies that have worked well for me. Keep in mind, that you may have to reapply a few times over a couple hours. These work on other bites and stings also.

    Make a paste of the following and apply to the offended area:
    Meat tenderizer and water
    Baking soda and water
    salt and water
    lemon juice

    You can also try an anti-itch cream:
    Calamine lotion
    Benadryl cream

    Not an anti -itch, but if you don’t have the others, try Orajel or something similar. They work by numbing the area.

    I especially like something called ‘After Bite’, which comes in a stick form. It’s really handy for camping and backpacking, and it works!

    I hate the ticks even more. I have lived here for 20 years, and never knew anyone that had one on them. But now, I have had two of those creepy insects on me twice in the past two years. The first time, Robert removed it from my back, and did it the correct way without even telling me what he was doing. He just said “Oh, let me look at this” and it was over before I knew it. The other time I was alone and had to reach around and pry it off. So gross, and I admit to panicking and pulling it off too fast. I didn’t get any diseases, but I did feel sick for a few days.

    Oh, the price we pay for living amongst such beauty 🙂 Hope this helps. Have a great day.

    • Hey Joy Joy, Yes That was very helpful. Orajel I would have never thought of that, good idea and lot’s of other helpful tips. Misquotes wearing saddles eeeww. Also tics that’s true really can make a person freak out. Screaming like a girl is a good thing. There are defiantly perks to being female this is one of them. I think tics can break out the creep factor for most people. I’m scrunching up my face just thinking about it. Unfortunately I have been bitten a couple of time in my life by tic’s it’s difficult not to panic and just rip it out without thinking. I try and stop and think OK now, lets see go down the list of what to do and what not to do and hopefully not interchange them. Thank You Joy for the tips I will try these this Season. :+)

  2. I read an article in Backpacker mag that said that the itch is caused by a histamine reaction. If you don’t scratch the area then the reaction dies down, but when you scratch it you fire up the histamine reaction again.

    Hhhmmmm an itch you don’t scratch that sounds like a good challenge. Good idea, it makes sense a histamine reaction. I’m gearing up for Summer. Hopefully it will be a nice and Sunny Summer.:+) So much rain right now, that’s probably why the sqeetas are biting. Thanks NF. :+)

    • There is also a school of thought that scratching a small spot of anti-histamine cream into each bite helps the antihistamine to reach the lower levels of the skin asap!

      Here in britain such horrors are found on the west coast of scotland, where we holiday quite often OUTWITH of the midge season. If you are stuck with the blighters, can I suggest Avon’s “Skin So Soft”. It’s the jollop recommended by our forestry commission to their professionals?

      Thank You Dave! I will be in search of an Avon representative STAT! I like the idea of a small amount of controlled scratching. :+)

  3. I’ve used the Burt’s bees one with success. I’ve also heard good things about Skin So Soft. Tourniquet is the spelling. I’ve never understood why the English language has to be so difficult.

    WOW! Tourniquet! I didn’t even come close, Thank You Joan. Hopefully I will never have to use the word again, but if I do I am prepared. Skin So Soft and Burt’s bees. Let Summer Begin, I feel ready now to deal with those pesky buggers.

  4. I do not get along with those little insects, so I just stay away. 🙂 I get freaked out and run. lol 🙂 I heard if you wear a nasty smelling perfume or cologne…they run away. lol 🙂 Worth a try, right? lol 🙂

  5. Believe it or not, I use but I use Sea Breeze after I’m stung. I think the alcohol in it kills the sting. I don’t use spray. I never could. I’d rather stay inside than put all the crap on me.

Leave a Reply

