Winter Fair Dutch Oven Cooking.

Standard

Our cherry/strawberry cobbler.

The Recipe:  1 Box of cake Mix use 1 egg instead of 2 eggs replace the water with 7up or Sprite and 1 can of pie filling.

              We used strawberry and cherry pie filling.  I know that’s two they were small cans instead of the one big can.

Three Piled High main dish, side dish, and dessert.

Moving briquettes under the Dutch Oven. For 10 inch diameter oven, use 7 briquettes under and 13 ontop.

Chimney for heating up the briquettes.

Hearing on the radio about the Dutch Oven Cooking contest, I thought it sounded like a lot of fun. In the back of my mind I’ve always wanted to learn about cooking food outside. The gentleman in charge was very nice and supplied the coals and oven we supplied the Dutch Oven Pot which is a cooking pot Navars Mom gave him a long time ago. Most of the people there were cooking main dishes.

Neighbors cooking stuffed porkchops.

Neighbors cooking stuffed pork chops.

Cooking chocolate cake.

Our neighbor to the right of us,  was the people’s choice award winner. With his gooey chocolate cake. The next morning when I woke up I swear I could smell that chocolate cake still cooking. That’s why it won The People’s Choice award, it was that good.  Moist warm chocolate cake cooking on a fire Yummy.  If I can find the recipe I’ll post it.  Now that it’s a famous award-winning cake I’m not sure he will let go of the recipe, but I can check.

Dutch oven and coffee cooking.

Steam rolling off of dutch oven cooking.

I found out that they give classes for Dutch Oven Cooking.  Also you can find recipes on Google.  I think it’s a fun way to cook outside and it really didn’t seem to be that hard.  One of those things you can always learn more about.  I’d give it two thumbs up, it was rewarding cooking and smelling the food as you cook. We served a line of people food from our dutch ovens they seemed happy and greatfull to be eating what we had cooked. For the main dishes they would use a thermometer to make sure  that the temperature of the food was hot enough for food safety. After going to several food safety classes because of being a waitress over the years, I appreciated that step.  Some of the recipes were bread pudding, peach cobbler,  chocolate cake, strawberry cherry cobbler, dessert first always in my book.  Let see pork chops, mexican stack, fish chowder, I think that won a ribbon, cheesy burger and potatoes, anyway I can’t remember all of them but as you can see that you can cook a wide variety of recipes. I had one women look into my eyes and tell me the cherry strawberry cobbler was to die for and that she was going to vote for us, we also had a couple other people say that they would put in a vote for us. We did not win any ribbons but, they did give us two really cool aprons which I’m sure will use.   All this talk about food I don’t know about you but I’m hungry!

10 responses »

    • The dessert takes less time to cook then the main meal about an hour and a main dish can take a couple of hours so stacking them can get the meal out at the same time. I did a little reseach this morning on more information about Dutch Oven Cooking. I may do another post about it. I find cooking outside a pretty cool consept.

    • The 3 stack picture doesn’t have the coals. After stacking they put coals under and ontop of lid. Oh then turn a 1/4 turn every ten minutes. It seems like the 3 stack is to much work.

  1. A post popped up in my RSS Reader titled “Pulling my hair out” but it isn’t on your blog. Technology can be frustrating at times. I had a good laugh at the guy’s sign too.

    No I couldn’t read it I was only joking.

    • Thats so funny out of all the bloggers who would catch that. It was a moment of frustration and a long rambling post titled “Pulling my hair out” after posting it I regrouped and got it together to figure out how to post pictures again with a little help from Navar thankfully I was able to regroup then I decided to delete the post.

  2. This sounds just wonderful. I’d love to try it too. I’m glad you had a good time. I wish we had more winter festivals like this. We have a lot of ice fishing tourney’s but that’s about it. This year with the warm weather, all the tourney’s have been cancelled. It’s kind of a bummer.

  3. We really did have a good time. It was nice to just get out and about. I was thinking dutch oven cooking would go well with ice fishing but, then I got to thinking maybe not because of the ice. It would be nice if you had a Winter Festival there. I think it’s nice for people in the community to have somthing to look forward to when the Winter is long.

  4. Hi S.Le Thanks the camel came with the place. The theme is called Adventure it has a few different headers to choose from I keep coming back to the camel he or she kind of grows on you. The Dutch oven cooking I supose could be a lot of work. I don’t know something about cooking a yummy meal out in the middle of no where is interesting to me.

  5. Pingback: What Floats your Boat? « Starla's Chat

Leave a Reply

