There’s a missile silo on my Montana Bluebird Trail.

Standard

This is how I thought the bluebird boxes should be decorated.

Makwa, our dog, got tuckered out. Too much excitement on the bluebird trail.

The Air Force keeps the roads well maintained up to the missile silos.

Number 8 bluebird box is directly across from this minuteman missile silo.

Bluebird box #8.

Almost the end of the bluebird trail.

The End of the trail.

Lichen heart.

Excerpt from the song “There’s a Bluebird on your windowsill” Lyrics by Elizabeth Clarke
There’s a bluebird on your windowsill
There’s a rainbow in your sky
There are happy thoughts, your heart to fill
Near enough to make you cry.

30 responses »

  1. Wow. Those are some amazing pictures. You are very talented. Montana is so beautiful. I think it would be wonderful to be you!

    • Thank You that’s very sweet on both counts. :+) I have fun taking pictures. I also enjoy sharing the places that I find in Montana with my Blogging friends. Yes, I would see for the most part being me is a good thing unless for the days I turn on myself and banter myself with negetive self talk. :+) Living in Montana has been wonderful for the most part.

    • Not my cow Mam just driving on by.:+) It does look tough. It was early morning and there were several cows lined up for their morning scratch. PETA has already been to my blog with The Lady Gaga wears meat dress post. For some reason it’s one of my most popular posts figures. I need to keep that in mind I guess when picking out things to post.

      • That got me so curious, I had to look through your blog to find that post. The main thing that goes through my mind when seeing that meat outfit is all of the microorganisms she’s exposing herself to by wearing raw meat. Just how my mind works…

  2. Hmmm lots of great/fantastic photos but I didn’t see the missile silo. Looks like the men in black have got you worried…
    There sure is some great scenery in Montanna. I always wonder how cows can rub om barbed wire like that without hurting themselves.

  3. Hi,
    Looks like you travel a long way to check and look after your boxes, but beautiful countryside to drive through. I love the photo of the decorated box, but can you imagine how long they would take to decorate, you would definitely need more hours in day. 😀

    • Hi Mags Yes it’s a bit of a drive. But it’s nice to get out and enjoy the wide open spaces. That time we went was around sun rise it was really beautiful watching the weather roll in and the sun hit the fields. Glad you liked the decorated bird house. Funny I think the bird houses are so plain and could use a womans touchl

    • Thanks Frank! Seems like just the other day I was bragging about being an early riser. This morning I looked at the clock 8ish slept funny thing about bragging.:+)

  4. First thing, Makwa is precious.
    Second thing, you did an AMAZING job on this post.
    Third thing, I love Montana. Beautiful country.

    Thank you for sharing all of these photos. I hope the little birdies have some happy times. Good Luck. 🙂

    • Thanks Doraz! :+) Glad you enjoyed the post it was fun putting it together. Glad I can share with you photos of this part of Montana it is different from the other part this is pretty rural lots of farms and ranches. It’s Makwa great I just love her she’s such a good dog. She loves to travel I think she gets cabin fever more then we do.

    • Thank You How Sweet! A sweet Award from my sweet blogging friend. Funny timing this morning when I woke up I was a bit cranky :+) The bedroom was too hot because the door was closed so when I got up I was say a bit of bear. Then I turned on my computer and bam a sunshine award. I had to laugh and tell Navar look a sunshine award. :+) We both had a good laugh. Thanks again. PS Im glad you liked the photos I sure had fun taking them.

  5. From all these lovely images I take away a general theme of soft vs hard. I see the harshness of the barbed wire next to the soft terrain, soft fur and soft sky. I see the harshness of the rocky road next to the softness of the tall billowy grass field on either side is elegant simplicity at it’s best!

    Regarding the colorful birdhouse in the middle: Personally I think it is very beautiful for Zsa Zsa Gabor’s blue birds maybe but not a real bird house. I definitely don’t think it belongs in Montana or any place in the midwest for that matter. I know, maybe on a back porch in say, Savannah! 🙂

  6. Thank You Lynn, I think you right about the soft vs hard theme in the photos. Working on this post had be considering all kinds of yin and yang aspects of life. Moving from Nortern Montana to Central Montana the beauty is a lot more browns and tans and soft colors. It’s not the in your face beauty that I’ve been use to so it’s been a challenge for me to see things in a different way to look for the art in the fields and the gentle landscapes or the rough edges like in the tough roads. It’s been interesting being here. Lots of clouds too I’ll have to post some pictures of clouds. :+)

Leave a Reply

