Playing outside

Standard
Image of comet C/1996 B2 (Hyakutake), taken on...

Image of comet C/1996 B2 (Hyakutake), taken on 1996 March 25, with a 225mm f/2.0 Schmidt Camera (focal length 450mm) on Kodak Panther 400 color slide film. Exposure 0:56 to 1:06 UT (10 minutes). The field shown is about 6.5°x4.8°. Note the prominent disconnection event in the comet’s ion tail. Stars in the image appear trailed, as the camera tracked the comet during the exposure. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I jumped over to my good friend introverted blogger  to see what’s up in her part of the world.  She has a play list for kids, idea’s about what you can do with your kids playing outside.  I thought what a Great idea not having kids myself I thought Oh Boy look at all this fun stuff to do.  What kind of things do you like to do when you unplug from the wall the phone and the net?  I like #24 and #40 I will have to reread the list for more ideas or maybe you will have some idea’s.  I think playing outside is a great thing.  I love my computer and I love to Blog!  There I said I really do Love blogging.  I also love to play outside.  I got stuck on my update post.  I wrote one post and then I realized, maybe I should break it down to two posts and add of few pictures.  I have company coming today!  What!  Why are you on the computer?  shhhhhhhh :+)  I know I need to jump up and finish the dishes look for fuzzy things in the fridge to toss,  sweep and mop the floor,  swipe my arm across the papers on my desk into a box , oh how the list goes on….Oh well, I guess I’ll post this and go into a cleaning frenzy.  I’ll shoot for my next post on Monday, hopefully I can steal away for a few momenst to write this weekend.  I challenge you to look at the list over at introverted bloggers place and try at least one of these play ideas on the list and report back let me know how it went.  I will do the same.  Enjoy your weekend. Happy playing!

39 responses »

  1. I would like to visit an island. Hey, it’s on the list! And I’d like that island to be Hawaii. And I’d like its newest visitors to be just me and my husband minus our kids. I’ll leave them with family, where they can polish off the rest of those things on that great list, 🙂

    Sadly, I don’t think this is going to happen anytime soon…

    • Visiting a Hawaiian Island that does sound wonderful. :+) I’m in a bit of a panic company’s coming! I’m laughing guess I’m going to have to shut off my computer so I will start to clean. Nothing like panic to spur on movement. I hope you get to visit Hawaii in the near future you never know.

      • We missed the Super Moon – thus explain it by not knowing it is best seen early when it is on the horizon. And to top it off – we were home!

        We didn’t play handbells this past weekend. Final rehearsal is tonight, with hopes of playing at two services on Sunday. But I’m not sure because there are attendance issues on this date – so we will know more tonight. As an ensemble, we have had a difficult year with membership for a host of reasons. We’ve stayed strong, and hopefully we can stabilize next year. Thanks for asking …. did you see the moon?

        • Yes we went outside with our company and took a look at the super moon rising. The moon did look a lot bigger it was pretty cool. We also brought out the Ipad that the school gave Navar and held it up to the sky with the ap to point out planets and stars. We could see Mars and Venus both very bright. Hope you have a good weekend.

  2. The blog world is really a carnivore. It eats and eats and eats your time. So you are right, we need to unplug from time to time (and I hope your cleaning frenzy went well – along with the visit of your friends). Thanks for the link to the introverted blogger. A great list of things to do even for those closer to 100 than 10 (or 11 3/4!). Eating an apple straight from a tree would be my favourite thing to do, but unfortunately it’s not the right season. Instead I went outside and played the grass trumpet.

    • I had a giant smile when I read that you went outside and played the grass trumpet. It’s funny how the simple things in life can really bring smiles. Glad you liked the list of play I thought it was a good list for any age. We went out Saturday to look at the super moon and we could see Mars and Venus and a few other stars.

  3. When my kids were young they spent almost all of their time outdoors. We were surrounded by woods and a pond so they always managed to keep busy. Looking at that list I think they did most everything on it. I hope that my grandchildren will do the same. Right now Lilah and I are building Faerie furniture out of twigs, moss, sea shells and other outdoor things we can scrounge up. She loves looking for the stuff we need at the beach and in the woods. Have a great weekend,

    • Good morning Joan, I loved the picture in my mind of you and Lilah building Faerie furniture out of twigs and moss, sea shells and other ourdoor things. That sounds like so much fun. What a wonderful idea! :+)

  4. Hi,
    It is unfortunate that we have to do these things sweep, mob, wash up etc, but still with friends coming over I sure you will have a great time. Enjoy the weekend. 😀

    • Thanks Mags, Yes the mondane chores seem to take up my time from time to time. I was surprised at how much dust was around my house.:+) I made a note to self Must dust more! Hope you had a good weekend.

  5. I can’t wait to hear what else you got up to on the list, Starla. My little man has a cold this weekend, otherwise we were going to make a dam. It’s his 11th birthday soon, so I gave him the list and told him to strick out everything he’s already done. Quite a bit but there are still some fun things to do. It’s just the right seaons for eating apples from the tree down my end of the world. We shall do that one soon.
    In the mean time, I’m with Carrie, on an island.

    • Happy 11th Birthday to your son! :+) I think building dam with kids is so much fun. It really lets the imagination soar. I love seeing your picture change all the time. I enjoy the new picture :+) Beautiful picture of you now. We watched the super moon rise on Saturday and looked at a couple of planets Mars and venus. It was fun looking at the stars with our company visiting. Thank You for posting the play list on your blog it was a good reminder to play no matter how old you are.

      • Thanks Starla. I am really new to putting myself out there and am not yet sure which pic suits my mood. Thanks so much for the positive feedback. Wasn’t the moon amazing. I loved it.

        • Glad you saw the super moon. It amazes me that the moon can looks so big at times. :+) It was fun to watch the moon rise. We had company so we watched it with them it was nice to get out and look at the stars and the moon for a moment. Hope you have a good weekend.

  6. 🙂 The weather outside seems to call us all out to play. 🙂 I am doing my best to stay outdoors this week. I hope you get to try out some more fun stuff in Montana. 🙂 Good to see you having smiles. 🙂

    • Hi Doraz Hows it going?I’m glad your enjoying that beautiful sunny warm weather. We watched the super moon rise on Saturday and gazed at the stars. I thought about playing in the rain but was too shy. We walked out of a building and I could see four or five kids having fun outside in the rain. We will still look for fun things to do outside. :+)

      • The moon was not too dufferent to me. Maybe I need glasses. lol 🙂 I had fun at the beach. I posted some photos. I loved relaxing. Now I am ready to roll. 🙂 Hope you guys have a lot of dancing fun this week. 🙂

        • The moon was pretty big over here when it came up over the horizon. Glad you had lots of fun at the beach!:+) Our life has been pretty hectic the last couple of weeks. Hope it will settle down middle of next week. I’ll be glad to rest. Hope you have a good weekend.:+)

    • Thank you that is very kind of you. I was just trying to write a post tough one about Navar’s father. There really are right words. We just got back from the funeral. I had to be strong over and over….

      • Sorry for your loss. Writing a post about someone you just lost is never easy … but strength gets you through the writing – well, if the words are right. Then again, if the words are tough, that’s a sign that the loss is really a gain.

Leave a Reply

