Free Chat Thursday

Standard
English: Blinking incandescent light bulb with...

English: Blinking incandescent light bulb with bimetallic strip (1960s; from a pinball). The slow-motion animation shows the moment when the strip opens. Deutsch: Blinkende Glühlampe mit Bimetallschalter (1960er Jahre; aus einem Flipperautomaten). Die Animation in Zeitlupe zeigt den Augenblick, in dem der Schalter öffnet. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Happy Thursday so close to the weekend I can smell it.  This week has gone by so slow for me, as if in slow motion.  I can feel the week, the month, and the school year rounding the bend.  The giddiness of the end of the school year TWO more days!  I’m trying to thinking of a good celebratory video for Navar surviving his first year of teaching Amazing!  It’s been a learning experience that’s for sure, with lots of challenges.   In some ways it seems like just the other day he was being layed off from a semiconductor tool making factory.  Life is ever-changing.  I found myself this week in between the points of intense difficulty being really grateful for the small things like a smile, a good book, music, the bird nesting outside in our one big tree…. How has your week been? Has it been like your riding an E ticket at Disney Land or maybe rowing a canoe on a perfectly still lake at sunset with the night-blooming jasmine just getting ready to open, or not even close?  Do tell, what’s going on in your world?

12 responses »

  1. End of the school year is always frantic, but relief is on the way!

    I’m off to meet a friend for lunch at a place that makes its own root beer … then back to mow the lawn, and a group dance lesson is also on the agenda for the day … and of course finalizing tomorrow’s Opinions in the Shorts. Visit when you get a chance. 🙂

  2. Hi Starla. I’ve had an impossible time commenting and I think it’s my browser but I think I might have it figured out so I hope you get this.

    I like the end of the school year even though my kids are grown just because it’s fun to see kids around. I like taking my grandkids to golf and swimming lessons all summer and I love taking out our pontoon. I really do like summer a lot and the activities that go along with it. We got our pool set up on Mothers Day so we are on the way.

    But as much as I love summer, in a few months I’ll really be wanting the nice crisp air of fall. I love the changing seasons.

  3. My oldest son has had finals all week, and there’s been a lot of driving back and forth between this and that. I’m not sure I’m ready for summer vacation, because now that I’m working at home, I’ll have two “co-workers” running through the house and wrestling. We’ll see if my writing takes a hit. 🙂

  4. Hi,
    It’s always nice when the time comes to have a bit of a break from work, and you can relax a bit.
    We have got some friends coming over this weekend, and it is always great to catch up with what everyone has been doing, so we will be having a barbecue and just enjoying the company. 😀

  5. Wow, the year has gone by too fast. I bet you guys are ready for some less stressful days. lol I am packing to go to the mountains. Wewill be having company. Time to just relax with a good book and friends and family. 🙂 I hope you guys have a wonderful weekend. See you when I get back. 🙂 Congrats to Navar and you too Starla. You are the assistant. lol 🙂

  6. Not too much in the introverts world, which for an introvert is wonderful. I have my best friends birthday approaching. Must do something outstanding for that. The children are growing. Oh I have dr appointments for the MS , blah, don’t think about those. So all is good 🙂

  7. Wow, how nice of you to ask. Starla you wise woman, you know how we love to talk about ourselves. 😉 Mine’s been super busy and time is flying by. I’ve been traveling to and from the village from Chiang Mai. It’s beginning to be the rainy season here and we are trying to finalize Project #1 Recycling initiative and #2 Orthopedic intervention details before the rainy season begins. All this and our #2 Project is two weeks into a month long series of long leg casting in hopes that afterwards he will be able to walk. He gets out of the hospital in two weeks. We are hoping for the rains hold off until we can get him and mama back into the village. If we are lucky the rains will wait and we can finalize both plans. If not, we can get child back into village but the recycle initiative will have to wait until the dry season as the road up the mtn and into the village is unaccessible and too dangerous for travel. There, you asked! 🙂 Otherwise- life’s just peachy and I’m doing what I love! xo

  8. Details: Opens for the season on weekends May 5, daily May 26. The park closes for the season Sept. 16. 10 a.m.-6 p.m. daily. 1500 N. McClintock Drive/Hayden Road, Tempe. $3-$26, season pass $69. 480-994-2297, bigsurffun.com .

Leave a Reply

