Free Chat Thursday

Standard
monday

monday (Photo credit: Robert Couse-Baker)

I’m taking the day off today.   I know Monday was the Holiday.  I seem to be a day late and a dollar short. I may come by your Blog to see what you are up to later in the next couple of days.  I will post again on Monday.  Until then don’t take any wooden nickles. (I’m going to have to google that why not take any wooden nickles? Why would someone give me a wooden nickel?)  I always wonder about those old sayings.  And then there’s the stop your pissing and moaning which my parents use to say to us.  Now that one kind of makes sense.  If you have any Words of Wisdom, short jokes, short quotes, stupid pet tricks, magic tricks or you just want to tell me about your week I’m all ears. The barking dog was howling all morning as I was trying to put my post together.  I started to put words to her howling instead of writing my post.   She’s finally quieted down and I’m exhausted. Dog 1 Blogger 0.  Thursdays Short Quote from a family friend Bobby (age 85)  His quote “Think Don’t Worry.” I like it.  Do you have a favorite short quote? See you on Monday.

8 responses »

  1. Two of my favorite quotes I heard on the Dr. Phil show. Profound, aren’t I? They are:

    “You wouldn’t worry so much about what others think of you if you realized how seldom they do.” That was actually Eleanor Roosevelt who said it, but I heard it on Dr. Phil.

    And:

    “Rejection is God’s protection.” Or in other words, maybe that thing you thought you really wanted wouldn’t have been good for you at all.

    Enjoy your day off!

  2. Hmmmm. I’ll have to first revert to my dad. He used to tell me I was “Full of piss and vinegar.” I like that one. I personally like to say, “Put your big girl panties on and deal!” My son is fond of saying, on his way to use the bathroom, “Time to drop the kids off at the pool.” My daughter is always telling me to “simmer down.” My husband…well…I couldn’t even begin to cover his crazy interjections.
    There. That should be enough weird country colloquialisms for one day.

  3. I’m here and you’re not! How naff is that?!? My all-time fave quote: “Outside of a dog, a book is man’s best friend. Inside of a dog, it’s too dark to read.” Groucho Marx. See you ’round Bloggersville!

  4. I’ve never heard of wooden nickles before.
    My Grandfather used to have a lot of odd sayings most of which I can’t remember now. One word was Ruman (U as in run not oo sound) meaning strange or silly person. Whenever I’d say something funny he’ say “Tony you’re a ruman”

  5. Hope you enjoyed your time off and got to relax and have some quiet time. I am happy to be home. Long Beach was so different. The last time I was there was 1984! See you soon.

  6. I used to say “I wish this and I wish that” and one day my dad said to me “if you wish in one hand and shit in the other, which will get full faster.” Funny, I never forgot it.

    I love old sayings too.

  7. One of my favorite quotes also comes from Dr. Phil. “And how’s that working for you?” It puts things in perspective really fast when I think I’m right and I’m willing to fight about it.

Leave a Reply

