Rounding up Cattle in Montana

Standard

I hope you had a good weekend.  I wonder what the week will bring?

Here are a few photos I took over the weekend.  The photos with people I took on our drive Saturday to Slippery Ann Elk viewing area to listen to the Elk Bugle.   We had a great time watching the elk so close up and listening to the bugling it did not disappoint.  I will put up a few photos in the near future of that trip.   Anyway the cowboy and cowgirl photos I took from our moving car as we were flying down the highway on the trip there.  Navar driving, pointing and saying  “Look they are rounding up cattle.”   Rolling down the window and pointing the camera out the window ( carefully holding the camera more inside  the window than outside the window).  Not wanting to lose the camera to the road.  I’ve been wanting to tell you about a fun creative project for a while, hopefully I can explain it Ok.  You may have already tried this way of taking pictures before, but if not I will do my best to explain it.   Also if you have not tried  this before using a small camera is best.   I call it drive by photography.   As I rolled the window down I could hear the sharp short whistle from the working cowgirls and cowboys as we were driving by it was very exciting.  I  immediately felt like I was on the range.  Usually when I try taking photos from a moving car it’s more of a blur.  I think of it as a fun creative project instead of an official photo shoot.  If you’ve never tried this before I can tell you it’s really fun and it can also be very rewarding.  I know it sounds simple so the benefits could be easily overlooked.   I think in one way that it has changed my photography by making me more relaxed and more open to the idea of seeing other possibilities when I’m taking a photo.  Instead of just seeing what I think  might be a good photograph.  As you are flying down the highway of course sitting in the passenger seat not the drivers side now that really would be distracted driving.  Seeing interesting old or new  buildings or different shapes and colors and just snapping photos and having fun. The big part is just having fun, chances are you will be deleting most of these images.  Seeing things burr by and clicking as fast you can almost like watching  moving paintings going by.  It’s not ment to capture sharp photos, but to loosen up the ways of seeing.  As I click I may take a photo in a very different way then I would normally and some times when I look back at these images there are surprises, buildings or telephone poles that I would not normally think to put in a picture but some how it works.  It’s a fun creative project when you are bored going from point A to point B.  The two photos without people I took yesterday while waiting for Navar as he was talking on his cel phone.  This time I got out of the car and took more time with the photos.  It was nice to watch the light change as the clouds rolled by changing the colors of the field from tan to the bright yellow.

33 responses »

    • It’s so interesting to me how Nortern Montana and central Montana are so different. It is beautiful country some of it is a lot of farm land and land with a lot of cattle but then there is also the wooded areas. It’s fun to explore.

  1. Even from a moving car, your photographs are outstanding. Can’t wait to see more. It’s always a good day when I can see your pictures! Love that big sky Montana!

    • Thank You Gina! Yes at times it really does look like a bigsky especially when there are a lot of clouds! It was fun this weekend watching the Elk and hearing them talk back and forth.

    • Thanks Zannyro! :+) I think it was my first time seeing a cattle drive in person. I hope I get to see another one. I think it’s fun to watch the working cowboys and cowgirls very talented and hard workers.

    • Hi Char Thank You it was exciting being at the right place at the right time for the cowboy pics. The wide open spaces are wonderful unless you have to pee :+) Sometimes restrooms are far and few between so you have to make your plans wisely.

  2. Holy Moly!! I can’t believe you took these from a moving car. What a great job. I can’t wait to see the elk. Once again you’ve taken me somewhere else for a little while. Thanks.

    • Thanks Joy I did get really lucky with these photos. I just happened to have the camera on my lap that helped. :+) glad you could visit our neck of the woods.

  3. As the road reflectors, fence posts, and mile markers fly by on a Montana drive, Starla’s camera shutter can be heard capturing moments in space and time, adding to the sublime.

    • Thanks Tony! Yes it is a beautiful place. I’ve heard your neck of the wood is also very beautiful. I remember seeing so photos as well. We are lucky to live on such a beautiful planet. :+) I’ll have to go over and check out navars video.

  4. I really like this idea of drive by photography. Anything that makes one break out of the ordinary routines is good for the creative process. And the photos you show illustrates the effect of your approach very nicely. My favourite is the close-up of the cattle. It’s graphically beautiful.

    • Nice to see you Otto Welcome Back :+) I’m glad my camera was on my lap at the time so all I had to do was pick it up quicly. Drive by photography is a fun way to take different types of photographs. I think some times I have a tendency to line things up too much so this is a helpful way for me to be more relaxed and to see things in different ways it’s also a lot of fun. :+)

  5. Hey Starla,
    Whew … Sorry about being late, but Monday I was short on time, then yesterday I was on the road for an important day trip. Speaking of drive by photos, yesterday I drove by Longenberger (sp?) Baskets HQ. Strange to actually see it. Thanks for sharing your countryside and glad you got to hear and see the elk!

Leave a Reply

