Must be Monday

Standard

Slow and steady wins the race.  I’m feeling a little overwhelmed.  It was a very busy weekend too busy really for my liking.  Navar had a teachers conference and I went with him just to get out-of-town.  It was strange walking around a school where most of the people are teachers.  I should have gone to the zoo.  Strange Segway I didn’t mean it that way I was just was thinking there was a zoo in the city and that might have been fun.  It was a long drive so it was interesting watching the light change seeing sunrises and sunsets.  I just realized I missed looking up at the stars this weekend, that’s how busy it was.  I hope you had a chance to take a look at the meteor showers.  How was your weekend?  Do you have your poop in a group or are you feeling overwhelmed too?  I took several photos  this weekend I think my favorite was a close up drive by photo of a sugar beet factor  I’ll try to put it up on Thursday.  We also went to a cattle drive one of the teachers  at  Navar’s school was moving 500 cattle 26 miles, crazy.  They even had to cross a busy highway it really looked like it all went pretty well.  They had several people probably family and friends on 4 wheelers a few hired hands working cowboys on horses and one person on a motorcycle.   At one point when we were trying to find where the 500 cows were so I could take a few pics  we drove down a small dirt back road, half way down the road all of sudden here comes a wave of black and red cows walking leisurely up the road.  Navar stops the car in the middle of the road and I thought this could be interesting.  The cows basically walked towards us and then parted us like the red sea.  I was feeling a little claustrophobic, but at that point there wasn’t much I could do about it.  When they got to the main road Navar got out of the car to help at one point, the sheriff had blocked the road with his car.  The cattle slowly crossed and off they went literally into the sunset crossing a huge field.  No wonder I’m tired.

I’m also a little stressed as I realize my part-time job a sales job is not going well so the reality of having to pound the pavement and look for something else is probably in my near future.  I watched a funny video the other day about going on job interviews at Frank Angles blog  it’s the 7th video down in the bunch its a funny video and I will keep it mind while I’m interviewing.  Feel free to tell me about your weekend or any short jokes you have memorized.  Hope you have a great week.

23 responses »

  1. I finally, after a long break, went surfing after a friend cajoled me to come along.
    Good friend, great day on the water!

    A hamburger walks into a bar, asks for a beer. The bartender says “I’m sorry, we don’t serve food here”.

    Hope you find some calm!

  2. I can’t believe you got caught in a cattle drive! That must have been something else.

    I had a lovely weekend. We took old friends out to dinner on Friday night and Saturday we spent with my sister and brother and their spouses. Yesterday my son came home for a visit.

    Today I’m off to teach a class to 60 middle-school children, about character development in creative writing. I’ll work with 3 other writers. It should be fun!

    Have a wonderful week, Starla!

    • Thanks Gina! Sounds like you have been having lots of fun. :+) It’s nice visiting with people who we care about. The class soulds like fun too. I’m going to a Picasa class tonight. I’m worried it might hurt my brain trying to learn new things, but I supose it will probably be a good thing in the long run.

      I know who gets caught in the middle of a cattle drive? It was strange. I did freek out a little bit oh well I survived. Have fun teaching your class. I wish I could be there I bet it will be great!

  3. I’m joining you in the ‘feeling overwhelmed’ department. So much going on. But together we’ll muttle through. Sorry your job isn’t going as you’d hoped. I wish you luck if you have to go on the hunt again.

    • Thanks Carrie! :+) Yes we will muttle through together.. I guess there is a time and a season for all things. I guess this is our busy season. I’m not really looking forward to the job hunt Thank You for the luck not many jobs around here so a little luck can’t hurt.

  4. Great story about the cattle drive … something that I can’t relate too …. well, other than on old western movies. 😉 You read about my weekend, so I won’t bore you again, but hey …. thanks for referring to my link with the job interview notes. 🙂

    • I enjoyed the visit to aFrankAngle, had a good laugh at the comedian, and soul soothed by the choir and images of your birth town Trieste. Thanks.
      Starla I have been overwhelmed as you know. Sorry if some rubbed off on you. I guess trying to teach 6 subjects is getting to me, especially because I don’t know them well enough to teach them, so is tough to be learning and teaching at the same time.

  5. Sounds like the cattle drive was a lot of fun & a great experience. I remember someone telling me there car got surrounded by cows once & one of the cows chewed the side mirror off the car. Just grabbed it with it’s mouth & ripped it clean off. When we lived on the mainland we were in a dairy farming area & we’d often see cattle crossing the road. Don’t realise how big cows actually are till you see them that close. The highlight of my weekend was washing my motorbike. As I was home alone I did a lot of cartoon drawing scanning & colouring. Watched an awesome space movie on Saturday night on youtube

    • A movie a movie very cool! :+) Thanks for link to the movie!
      I’m glad none of the cows made any sudden moves I think I would have freaked out Sreaming is probably not the thing to do when your stuck in the middle of a cattle drive. :+)
      glad your getting lots of cartoons done. I look forward to seeing what you have the drawing board..

    • Thank Your for the Movie link Tony! We watched the movie last night and we really enjoyed it! :+) Lots of suspense! I’m surprised I hadn’t heard of it before. Thanks Again! :+)

  6. It must be Tuesday since I can remember what I did this weekend. I probably worked if I dig hard into my memory. Nothing memorial in other words. I would love to see pictures of the sea of cows parting your car. Maybe some time later? Sorry to read about the work. Good luck finding something new!

    • I will probably put up a few photos of the cattle drive in the near future. I did take a couple of photos looking out from the car windheild when the cows came up to us. I think when they had us surrounded I was trying to keep my cool and not scream. :+) I was impressed at how slow and calm the cows were I was greatful for that.
      Looks like it’s still tuesday :+)

Leave a Reply

